The Enneagram System of Personality / Lynn Roulo



The Enneagram System of Personality is an ancient system with modern applications to understand human psychology. It has been referred to as the GPS of wisdom and a tool for compassion.  In the last 15 years, this ancient personality typing system has entered the mainstream.


Stemming from the Greek words ennea (nine) and grammos (a written symbol), the nine-pointed Enneagram symbol represents nine distinct strategies for relating to the self, others and the world. Each Enneagram type has a different pattern of thinking, feeling and acting that arises from a deeper inner motivation or worldview. Watch this video to learn more about the Enneagram.


The Enneagram is used in business and in management training to improve interpersonal skills and communication.  It can be used as a team building tool or a tool for individual professional growth. The Enneagram System of Personality directly addresses the five elements of emotional intelligence: self-awareness, self- regulation, internal motivation, empathy and people skills. Called the “GPS of wisdom,” a 2011 study by Enneagram in Business covering 72 companies, including Best Buy, Daimler-Mitsubishi, Toyota and Avon, found that using the Enneagram led to better communication and collaboration, rising sales and increase in employee engagement.


The Enneagram is also used as a personal growth tool as a way to understand yourself and the other people in your life.  It helps to cultivate the self-observation skill set and often acts as a tool for compassion–when you understand why people are acting the way they are, it is easier to feel compassion and understanding for them.



What are the nine types?

1) Type 1: The Perfectionist/Reformer
2) Type 2: The Helper/Giver/Lover
3) Type 3: The Achiever/Motivator
4) Type 4: The Individualist/Artist
5) Type 5: The Investigator/Observer
6) Type 6: The Loyalist/Skeptic
7) Type 7: The Enthusiast/Adventurer
8) Type 8: The Leader/Boss
9) Type 9: The Peacemaker/Mediator


Learn more